What to Eat with Moscato

Wine Club this month came with Fleur Bleu Moscato. I had never tried Moscato before, but had heard that it is pretty sweet. I’m more of a dry wine lover, so I was concerned about what to serve with this new, scary wine. And would we like it?

One of my goals for my business is to make at least one recipe each month that comes with a wine in my Wine Club. This month I’m going to make both recipes, because they both look (1) delicious and (2) like something Rollie will eat. The recipe that came with the Moscato convinced me to drink the wine instead of giving it away to a sweeter wine drinker.

Last night I made the Maple Wasabi Glazed Salmon, paired with the Fleur Bleu Moscato. The recipe as written calls for 2 pounds of salmon and serves eight, so I just cut it down appropriately to serve the two of us with the fresh, wild-caught salmon filet I had in the fridge.

The glaze is a marinade made with maple syrup, soy sauce, wasabi powder, green onions, garlic powder and ginger. It goes together very quickly. Just pour it over the salmon and bake.

Salmon and marinade

The salmon filet and the marinade

Here’s the recipe.

I coupled the salmon with brown rice and stir-fried vegetables. I chose snap peas, broccoli, green onions, mushrooms, red pepper for my stir-fry.

Stir fry vegetables

Sliced vegetables ready to stir fry

The finished meal was beautiful as well as delicious.

Finished meal

Maple Glazed Wasabi Salmon, vegetable stir-fry, brown rice, a homemade biscuit and Fleur Bleu Moscato

The Moscato is slightly sweet, as is the salmon glaze. The two pair very well, with the wine adding a fresh crispness and a light touch to the meal. We enjoyed the wine, especially with the meal. It’s not one we will sit down and drink with a movie and popcorn on Sunday nights, but with this meal, it was perfect. I would also drink a glass on the deck on a warm afternoon, perhaps paired with some fresh berries or fresh mozzarella.

The whole meal felt so healthy (I mean–look at all those veggies!) that I followed dinner with the last of the Sugar Cookies with Starlight Frosting I baked on Saturday!

Are you a Moscato lover? What do you pair with it? I’d love to hear what you’re eating and drinking!

 

Want more?

Are you interested in receiving recipes each month that pair with specific wines and types of wines? Sign up for my newsletter. Better yet, join my Wine Club and receive two or four bottles of wine (with recipes) delivered to your door every month!

Leave a Reply

Archive by Month

Archive by Category

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 250 other followers

